Traditional Female Gender Role under Deconstruction

Why aren’t women making babies anymore? Are American women saying “No” to babies, but saying “Yes” to childless marriage or childless single existence?
As more and more women gain socio-economic independence, what was once considered her only legitimate space, “home,” is undergoing massive structural transformation. Only about 24% of the US family structure represents the traditional nuclear home—i.e., heterosexual parents with children.
Household Types, 1990-2000
1990
  • Total Households 91,947,410 (100%)
  • Married Couple 23,494,726 (55.15%)
  • With Children 23,494,726 (25.55%)

2000

Total Households 105,480,101 (100.00%)

  • Married Couple 54,493,232 (51. 66%)
  • With Children 24,835,505 (23.55%)

According to this statistics (Census Scope http://www.%20censusscope.org/), we as a society are headed towards a predominantly elderly populace, since less and less women are willing to produce babies. In fact, such is the trend for other countries with 1st world status.

Do you have any concerns with this trend?

8 Comments

  1. Fewer children is a good trend. The world’s resources cannot sustain the increasing world population for long, much less animal and plant species. The U.S. consumes about 40% of the world’s oil now. But fewer babies will still not be enough to prevent the oncoming global energy and environmental crisis, especially with the rise of China and India.

  2. I think it’s a wonderful trend. It is good news for the planet. In the industrialized world we (the US and Europe) create 90% of the air & water pollution, the world’s trash and use up virtually all of the world’s resources. Growth is not sustainable.

  3. I think as women become more educated, get a feel of the working, professional world, they start resetting their priorities and it doesn’t happen to be husbands and babies. I have a close group of girlfriends(2 teachers, a chemist, a counselor, and a social worker), we all agree that we are not really for them. We just want to explore our indepence a little further, I guess.

  4. 10 years ago,I used to think that I didn’t need any children in my life to be happy. But now that I got married and I love my husband I really want to have a child. But it may be too late. On the other hand I feel happy to see that we as humans are becoming more conscious about the future of our children. The world is getting more corrupted every time and also people’s values are going down.

  5. Hmm very interesting. I don’t know what to say. I mean I think it’s good women are stepping away from the traditions, but then we should still try to retain some too.Hmm having babies too, whoa I don’t know what to say to that either. I’m still young so I can’t answer it yet.

  6. Interesting. I thought that the trend was being reversed now… This trend is typical of all industrialized nations (e.g., Spain, Italy). Cheers, Kuki

  7. In agrarian societies of the past, stay-at-home women had many children to promote the family’s growth to support farming responsibilities. These were the stories that I heard of my great-grandmother and her many children to support farm-related duties. However, women now work and have lives beyond the home. Fewer children is one of the results of women having more choices and options in life.

  8. Also in Japan, birth rate is dropping almost 1 kid for 1 couple. One thing is they want to prepare for the kids’ tuition for better schools. Also, I’m even feeling a little anxious to have more than 1 kids if I get married here in US, because divorce rate is high.


Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.

Comments RSS